Monday, October 16, 2006

Living a Godly life in an ungodly world

This subject eats at me everytime I think of it and it seems to be brought to my attention a lot lately. I think it especially stems from the sermon I heard this past Sunday where I was definately made aware of the fact that much of what I do and watch is a form of idol worship because I put it higher than God in the scheme of my daily life. We don't often like to think of watching television as idol worship, but it can be! ANYTHING that we exalt higher than God in our lives is. It really puts me to shame when I think of it and not only that, but some of the things I allow myself to watch or jokes I allow myself to laugh at or whatever the situation may be...well, it's just sad that the world says all of this is "ok" and "go ahead...it doesn't hurt anything!"....Well, sadly it does. It hurts the one person who gave His life for me. It hurts the one person who didn't have to give me life, but He did.

However, my topic has to do with Halloween. Now, don't get me wrong...I like Halloween and all the candy and all the cute kids dressing up and stuff. I don't follow it as a "devil" holiday, but I do have to admit there can be evil associated with it and nowadays especially, we have to be careful to keep it "fun" and innocent for the kids. My problem is the fact that so many people these days are putting Christians down for saying they DON'T celebrate the holiday. They have harvest parties at their churches and the kids dress up as Bible characters. What is wrong with that?? Absolutely nothing. I was really upset after watching a recent episode of The View. I don't tend to watch this often as I think the overly liberal views are too much. But I happened to be watching one day and the blonde, who is often deemed "too conservative" or "too christian", began talking of getting her child ready for Halloween. Then Rosie and Joy chimed in, and then they asked the visiting host and she said her family doesn't celebrate Halloween...they do as I mentioned earlier. Well, you would have thought she was the devil then. All three ladies first made faces, then they began questioning her, then they laughed and made a joke about thinking the blonde was "the christian one". Let me just tell you this truly offended me and saddened me at the same time. I'm sorry, but when did being christian and expressing that you do something sweet and innocent become the silly, wrong thing to do?? So she doesn't celebrate it. So she wants to keep God in the forefront of everything she does? And, then I watched an episode recently of that "New Christine" show, that basically didn't paint the best picture of going to church or taking your kids to church. It was all meant to be fun and innocent, but once again...I was saddened. Once again, I realized just how much "the world" has taken God and the importance of Godly things out of the focus of life today. It's being made a joke in the media, it's getting taken out of schools and politics. Kids today are told it's more important to go to a football game on Sunday than to church. Is it no wonder a blessed nation once built on Godly values is slowly becoming not so blessed these days??

I didn't write this entry to slam Halloween, because I'll be the first person passing out candy! I didn't write it to slam all t.v. and all of pop culture, because I'm the first person turning on LOST and going to concerts and movies. I'm just trying to point out that, as christians, we have responsibilities to God. It is important that we put God first in everything, not only for our personal life, but also because the world is watching and listening to us. As many say, we might be the only Jesus someone ever knows.
"He will give you everything you need if you live for Him and
make the kingdom of God your primary concern."
Matthew 6:33
"Only one life, soon will be past. Only what's done for Christ will last." -author unknown

2 Comments:

Blogger carleta said...

The sermon really touched me as well. Sometimes secular things creep up on us without us even realizing it. It is easy to say we are committed to Christ, but, how many times do we watch t.v. or movie or football games instead of Bible Study or praying or even listening to God. Not just because people are watching, but because Christ gave his life. I think the rest is so small compared to that!

October 16, 2006 at 11:23 PM  
Blogger CissaLynn said...

I totally agree! Good blog! I used to watch the View when it first came out, but not so much anymore (same reasons as you). Anyway, I find myself watching things like Rachael Ray. She is always so positive and smiling and always complimenting people! It kinda is a reminder to me of how "I" should be! Of how "I" want to be! She doesn't preach or for that matter, even mention God, but her actions speak louder than words! :) I guess I find people to follow in their example of how I want to be as a christian! :) Is this making any ssnse?! I hope so! Your blogs are good to read - thanks!!!!!

October 16, 2006 at 11:31 PM  

Post a Comment

<< Home